Cambridge Modern Jazz...the home of jazz in Cambridge

  • LED BIB will play at CMJC on February 23, 2017
  • Damon Brown played at CMJC on February 9, 2017
  • Trish Clowes (My Iris Qt) played at CMJC on January 26, 2017
  • Jim Hart (Cloudmakers Trio) played at CMJC on January 12, 2017
  • John Etheridge Vimala Rowe (Etheridge Rowe 2) played at CMJC on December 15, 2016
  • Soweto Kinch played at CMJC on November 24, 2016
  • Phronesis played at CMJC on November 20, 2016
  • Mads Mathias played at CMJC on November 17, 2016
  • played at CMJC on November 10, 2016
  • Tina May Nikki Iles played at CMJC on October 27, 2016
  • Omar Puente played at CMJC on October 13, 2016

Tim Garland Quartet 'ONE'

No one walks the borderland between jazz and classical music more sure-footedly than Tim Garland. Dave Gelly, The Observer

Thursday March 16, 2017

8:00 pm

Tickets: £18 (full), £15 (students)

Buy online 

or phone for tickets 07827 012875

Hidden Rooms

Well known as one of this country's leading jazz composers and innovators Tim's work often explores the territory between jazz and classical music. He is equally at home in intimate small group settings, or with full size symphony orchestras, as he has demonstrated to great effect through a long and distinguished career. Since the early 1990's he has toured extensively throughout Europe and latterly worldwide as saxophonist for Chick Corea's Vigil project. With numerous recordings to his name as well as appearing as sideman, he is one of UK's prolific performers and a world class instrumentalist. Tonight's quartet features some of the very best UK players, all at the top of their game. Expect top class, warm-hearted jazz, with more than a few surprises.
Please note slightly increased prices for this high flying gig. We hope you'll agree it's worth it.

Music samples
Introducing the Electric Quartet
'The Eternal Greeting' - live at Pizza Express London
'Return to the Fire'

Artists: Tim Garland saxes, Jason Rebello piano, Ant Law guitar, Asaf Sirkis drums